Golf is Hard…mmkay

I went golfing today.

I am by no means a golfer. I’ve been maybe a dozen times in my life. I think I went twice last season and both times were at Newburg Village, a tiny, nine-hole course with two par 5’s, two par 3’s, and the rest par 4’s. Definitely a beginners course.

Today I got invited to golf 18 holes at Sandy Hollow golf course with a buddy of mine and two co-workers of his. Being the ultra-amateur that I am, I was incredibly nervous about making an ass of myself.

To my surprise, I held my own for the most part. Only shanked a few drives, only shanked a few fairway shots, and was able to get a five, six or seven on most holes. Heck, I even made par on one hole and a handful of bogies.

The thing I learned that is incredible about the game of golf is how difficult it is, and how much so many people have, not so much perfected the game, but found a way to play their own brand of golf successfully, and on such a consistent basis.

18 holes of golf is flat-out exhausting. By hole 16 I was beat. I was ready to call it quits and have a cold one. The fact that so many people are able to play day after day, week after week, for years and years is incredible to me. And those who are able to do it SUCCESSFULLY never cease to amaze me.

Nevermind the Tiger Woods, the Phil Michelson, and the guys we see on a weekly basis on the PGA Tour. That’s on a whole other level, but even just the local pros in Rockford who play in the amateur tournaments and shoot in the mid-70’s. That’s damn impressive.

I finished the day with a 118. Had a 59 on both the front and back 9’s. It was a fun day, an exhausting day, and definitely made me want to go golfing again. I’m a competitive guy and like to try and perfect the things I enjoy competing in. But one thing’s for sure, I’ve got a long way to go.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

