“The Hangover” – A Riot, If That’s Your Cup of Tea

the-hangover-01-1

I knew before going into The Hangover what I was going to get.

Yeah, I’m a film nerd who loves all the “artsy-fartsy” films about love and other sophisticated shit.

Well newsflash, that’s not quite The Hangover.

But I didn’t care. I wanted to laugh ’til I pissed myself. I wanted scene after scene to continue to shock and appall me. I wanted the type of humor I’ve seen in Old School, Superbad, 40-Year-Old Virgin, etc. That’s what I wanted out of The Hangover, and that’s what I got.

The standout of the film is Zach Galifianakis (and yes, I had to look up how to spell that). The stand-up comic who has become quite popular with the college crowd over the past couple of years is best known on the big screen for 2001’s “Out Cold.” But after this, he’s primed for a Will Farrell-esque career leap. (Also, according to IMDb the dude turns 40 this year. I would’ve bet he wasn’t a day over 30).

It’s likely if you’ve seen the trailer, you don’t need my advice to go see the film, but if you do, trust me. Go see it. The comedy is raunchy yet fresh, and while the one setback is that so many hilarious moments are shown in the trailer, there are still plenty more that aren’t (including a montage of pictures in the end credits that made a friend of mine laugh so hard he nearly fell out of his chair in the theatre.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

