The Dear Hunter – Act III: Life and Death

One of the many albums I’m highly anticipated this year leaked yesterday and I found it to be pretty much what I expected out of the fun, prog rock band I discovered less than a year ago.

The Dear Hunter, for those not familiar, is a progressive rock/experimental rock band from Boston that is the project of former Receiving End of Sirens frontman Casey Crescenzo.

Act III: Life and Death is (obviously) the third part of a trilogy the band put together that tells a strange story that I have yet to look into so I’m still not quite sure what it’s about.

But what I do know is that their music rocks, and while Act III doesn’t necessarily take the kind of leap Coheed and Cambria did with their first Good Apollo, it still offers everything a fan would expect out of the band after listening to Act I: The Lake South, The River North, and Act II: The Meaning Of, And All Things Regarding Ms. Leading.

Anyway, Act III is just the start of a year of albums that includes the new Mars Volta project Octahedron, and new albums from the Avett Brothers and the aforementioned Coheed and Cambria. Should make for a pretty rockin’ summer, and (money pending) I may be seeing the Avett Brothers on June 26 in Chicago and Dear Hunter July 5, also in Chicago.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

